The Rensselaer Sustainability Research Network connects faculty, students, staff and members of the community working to advance knowledge about environmental sustainability through research and education.

The network was launched in fall 2012 by the Excellence in Interdisciplinary Sustainability Studies Task Force convened by Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences Dean Mary Simoni.  The Task Force is chaired by Professor Kim Fortun (Science and Technology Studies), and includes Professors Shengbai Zhang (Physics), Peter Fox (Earth and Environmental Sciences + Computer Science), Jose Holguin-Veras (Civil Engineering), Abby Kinchy (Science and Technology Studies), Philippe Baveye (Environmental Engineering), Michael Mascarenhas (Science and Technology Studies), Faye Duchin (Economics + Science and Technology Studies), Mark Mistur (Architecture) and Robert Chernow (Vice Provost, Entrepreneurship).